I received a notification email at my old mailbox saying "Your login Email will be changed" with a cancel link in it. What is that link for?

That link is a safety brake for the original account owner. When someone requests to change your login Email to another mailbox, the system sends a confirmation email to the new mailbox and also notifies the old mailbox. If you requested this change yourself, you can ignore the notification and just click the confirmation link in the new mailbox. If you didn't request it, it means someone has obtained your password. Please click the "Cancel change" link in the notification email immediately. This change will be canceled and your account will keep the original mailbox. Then go to "Personal Settings" and change your password as soon as possible. Both the cancel link and confirmation link are valid for 24 hours. As long as the new mailbox hasn't been confirmed, you can cancel from the old mailbox. You can also click "Cancel change" on the screen when the status shows "Awaiting confirmation".

V5 desktopSign-in & account